PTO Canadian Open announces stellar women’s pro field

(Photo: Challenge Daytona)

Only a little less than one month until we will see some of the best triathletes in the world battle at the PTO Canadian Open. While the Professional Triathletes Organization announced a part of the men’s pro field before, with Kristian Blummenfelt and Gustav Iden being an absolute highlight, the women’s pro field is now out too. So far, 31 of the best female triathletes in the world have confirmed to race for the 1 million dollar prize purse.

One of the race favorites, but most of all the local favorite, is Paula Findlay, who grew up only a few kilometers away from the race location: Edmonton. “I’m absolutely looking forward to it. When I was a little girl, I remember going to Hawrelak Park and watching Simon Whitfield (a Canadian triathlete, ed.)”, Findlay stated. “I remember getting an autograph from him at the end of the race. That’s what encouraged me to get into the sport. So, to be able to come back now as a long-distance athlete and race in Hawrelak Park is something I never thought would ever happen. My season has been focused on Edmonton and the new one million PTO Canadian Open, because I know that if I’m fully fit and healthy, I can be competitive. I proved that to myself by winning the PTO Championship in Daytona in 2020 against the best in the world.”

Check out the full start list for the pro women’s race down below.

Laura Philipp (GER)Ashleigh Gentle (AUS)
Taylor Knibb (USA)Lucy Buckingham (GBR)
Skye Moench (USA)Jodie Stimpson (GBR)
Emma Pallant-Browne (GBR)Sarah Crowley (AUS)
Jeanni Metzler (ZAF)Hannah Wells (NZL)
Paula Findlay (CAN)Nikki Bartlett (GBR)
Jackie Hering (USA)Laura Siddall (GBR)
Holly Lawrence (GBR)Lotte Wilms (NLD)
Ruth Astle (GBR)Marjolaine Pierré (FRA)
Chelsea Sodaro (USA)Pamella Oliveira (BRA)
Tamara Jewett (CAN)Julie Derron (CHE)
Jocelyn McCauley (USA)Elisabetta Curridori (ITA)
Sara Perez Sala (ESP)Danielle Lewis (USA)
Ellie Salthouse (AUS)Lauren Brandon (USA)
Fenella Langridge (GBR)Anne Reischmann (GER)
Luisa Baptista (BRA)