PTO announced ‘all star’ start list women’s race PTO Asian Open

PTO Asian Open

The PTO has announced – after the men’s list earlier today – an ‘all star cast list’ for the inaugural PTO Asian Open women’s race in Singapore on Saturday 19 August, led by Ashleigh Gente, Anne Haug and Lucy Charles-Barclay. In total, the current line-up for the third and final PTO Tour race of the season will feature a 20-athlete field that includes 11 of the top 30 women from PTO World Rankings and covers 9 different countries.

Australian Ashleigh Gentle, winner of both PTO Opens in 2022 and second in this year’s PTO European Open in Ibiza in May, said: “I have raced in Singapore a couple of times. Once when I was super young, at an Asian Cup and then at the start of 2019. So I have a feel for the place, but obviously, with the PTO Asian Open the race experience will go to the next level for the professionals – but also for the amateurs who have the opportunity to race the same 100km course around what is an iconic city.”

Germany’s Anne Haug, who beat Gentle in Ibiza, said: “Competing against the best in the world really pushes me to get the best out of myself and to see how good you can be. These PTO Tour races do exactly that, which is why I’m looking forward to taking the start line in Singapore next month.”

The PTO Asian Open women’s confirmed automatic qualifiers start list can be found here and includes:

  1. Ashleigh Gentle (AUS)
  2. Anne Haug (GER)
  3. Lucy Charles-Barclay (GBR)
  4. Chelsea Sodaro (USA)
  5. Fenella Langridge (GBR)
  6. Jocelyn McCauley (USA)
  7. Marjolaine Pierré (FRA)
  8. Sara Perez Sala (ESP)
  9. Sarah True (USA)
  10. Lotte Wilms (NED)
  11. Jackie Hering (USA)
  12. Ellie Salthouse (AUS)
  13. Rebecca Clarke (NZL)
  14. Jeanni Metzler (SA)