Europe Triathlon names Léo Bergere and Nina Eim as athletes of the year

Léo Bergere named athlete of the year by Europe Triathlon (Picture: World Triathlon)

At the annual Europe Triathlon Gala, held tonight in Samorin, Slovakia, Europe Triathlon named Frenchman Léo Bergere athlete of the year and German Nina Eim was named athlete of the year as well.

In doing so, Bergere defeated Jelle Geens and Csongor Lehmann. Eim in turn defeated Cassandre Beaugrand and Laura Lindemann. During the gala evening, not only the best athletes of the year were named. The European Championships Standard Distance held last year in Munich, for example, was named event of the year. The Spanish triathlon federation was named federation of the year. Francesca Tarantello is Para-athlete of the Year and Florian Brungraber was named Para-athlete of the Year as well.