Canada set to host PTO Chase at Subaru Triathlon Series race in Guelph

Canadian Rach McBride competes at the PTO supported Canadian Pro Champs in 2020. Photo: Kevin Mackinnon

The global triathlon landscape has suffered many setbacks during the the global pandemic, Canada in particular was very limited in the events that took place in 2020. This upcoming race season looks to be more promising. According to an article on endurance biz the Subaru Triathlon Series will partner with the Professional Triathletes Organisation (PTO) to host a pro race that will be held in a chase format (pro women start first with the men chasing them at a pre-determined interval). The Subaru PTO Chase is set for Saturday June 19 as part of the Guelph Lake 1 event, which has been a staple on the Canadian race scene for almost 30 years.

The pro race consists of a 1,500 m swim, 45 km bike and a 12 km run. The PTO has offered up a US$15,000 prize purse with bonuses paid out to the top three overall finishers. The announcement of a highly competitive event in Canada will be music to Canadian pro’s ears – not only will the event offer qualifying points for the Collins Cup, set to take place this August in Samorin, Slovakia, Canadian short-distance athletes can use the race as a springboard towards later events planned for Canada including the World Triathlon Series events in both Montreal and Edmonton set for August.

The Subaru Chase event will return after its first edition over 15 years ago at the Subaru Chase in Muskoka, Ontario. The event that was held from 2004-2006 saw the men only get across the line first once – the first year of the Chase in 2004 won by Australia’s Miles Stewart. In 2005 Samantha McGlone (CAN) would show her long-distance potential (she went on to win the first Ironman 70.3 World Championship in 2006) by using the 19:28 lead the women were given over the men to get to the line almost three minutes ahead of Olympic gold medalist Simon Whitfield (CAN) and almost five minutes ahead of Craig Alexander (AUS), who would also claim the inaugural 70.3 world title a year later. The last year of the Muskoka Chase saw Tereza Macel take the day by just under 40 seconds, with Whitfield sprinting past McGlone in the last few meters to take second again.