USA Triathlon Foundation Ambassador Team aims to raise $100,000 in 2022


With a team of 90 members aged 14 to 78, the 2022 USA Triathlon Foundation Ambassador Team is the largest ever and looks to raise “funds and awareness in support of the mission of the USA Triathlon Foundation to provide opportunities and encourage multisport participation in local communities.”

The 90 athletes come from 28 different US states and include some of America’s top age group competitors. Included on the team this year is 14-year-old Caleb Prewitt from Jacksonville, Florida, who is the youngest person with Down syndrome to complete a USA Triathlon sanctioned race. He’s adding another record to his resume as the USA Triathlon Foundations first youth ambassador. The oldest member of the team is Ohio’s Jerry Shere, who is 78.

The Ambassador Team was created in 2019 and, since that time, has raised over US$130,000 which has gone to support youth, adaptive athletes and aspiring Olympic and Paralympic hopefuls. In 2020 the team raised awareness and money for the USA Triathlon Foundation COVID-19 Relief Fund.

“This team brings incredible diversity of age, abilities, and experiences within the sport; we want this team to reflect the best and most welcoming version of our sport,” says team manager Laura Goodwin. “The 2022 team includes numerous ambassadors that have been committed to the foundation since the inception of the Ambassador Team in 2019. These returning ambassadors have had a huge impact on the USA Triathlon Foundation and we are so grateful for their continued passion and support. We hope to continue to grow the foundation’s impact and outreach this year with this incredibly strong and enthusiastic team.”

Team members will participate in service projects and raise a minimum of US$1,000 each for the USA Triathlon Foundation.

2022 USA Triathlon Foundation Ambassadors
Malek Amrani (Encino, CA)
Kimee Armour (Auburn, IL)
Ismar Avdic (Redondo Beach, CA)
Daniella Barrera (Los Angeles, CA)
Linda Bayne (Sarasota, Fl)
Lyndze Blosser (Grand Rapids, MI)
Matthew Bonn (Knoxville, TN)
Christian Botting (Boulder, CO)
Susan Brashear (Highlands Ranch, CO)
Joni Briganti (Spotsylvania, VA)
Candace Brown (Raleigh, NC)
Doug Busken (Denver, CO)
Brad Butler (Vermilion, OH)
Sharon Byun (Gainesville, FL)
Carol Coram (Seattle, WA)
Allison Cotten (Ludington, MI)
Devon Dabney (Atlanta, GA)
Remigia Davis (Washington, DC)
Becky DiSorbo (Henderson, NV)
Sean Downes (Morristown, NJ)
David Federspiel (Niagara Falls, NY)
Debbie Fratrik (Boynton Beach, VL)
Kevin O. Gaston (Atlanta, GA)
Jeffrey Gill (Houston, TX)
Heather Goyette (Franklin, TN)
Kirby Adams Grantz (Louisville, KY)
Chip Grizzard (Lawrenceville, GA)
Steve Gunther (Excelsior, MN)
Wiebke Hannigan (Sykesville, MD)
Alex Hedvat (Encino, CA)
Suzy Heffernan (Cutchogue, NY)
Shelly Henderson (Hauser, ID)
Jason J Henry (Midland, MI)
Michael Hooper (Dallas, TX)
Rosalind Jarrett Sepulveda (Los Angeles, CA)
Alejandro Kaed (Miami, FL)
Sarah Kerr (Oak Ridge, TN)
Kimberly Townsend (Fort Wayne, IN)
Jeff LaFerla, OD FAAO (Weatherby Lake, MO)
Sophia Lattimore (Gaithersburg, MD)
Lawrence Lopez (Glendale, AZ)
Steve Lovelace (Edmond, OK)
Pablo Luna (Tampa, FL)
Jordan Marshall (Fort Wayne, IN)
Wade McNair (Knoxville, TN)
Kim Michael-Lee (Bloomingdale, IL)
Sydney Miyatake (Los Angeles, CA)
Emily Morrison (Griffith, IN)
Christy Murrell (Waterford, VA)
Christopher Myers (APO, AE)
Jen Myers (Chesapeake, VA)
Chris Navin (Chicago, IL)
Kristen Neimeth (New York, NY)
Stef Nemeth (Chattanooga, TN)
Billie Pate (Upland, CA)
Cheryl Perry (The Woodlands, TX)
Steph Popelar (Elizabeth, CO)
Caleb Prewitt (Jacksonville, FL)
Miriam Raviv (Austin, TX)
Michael Read (Basking Ridge, NJ)
Sue Reynolds (Bloomington, IN)
John Rhodes (Daniel Island, SC)
Kara Ringo (Charlotte, NC)
Jenna Rings (Florence, AZ)
Cruz rodriguez (Chula Vista, CA)
Alexandra Rosen (Fairfax, CA)
John Royson (Albany, CA)
Jess Saalfield (Arlington, VA)
Jeff Schreiber (Sandy, UT)
Tove Shere (Cleveland Heights, OH)
Jerry Shere (Cleveland Heights, OH)
Michael “Dreamchaser” Smith (Mckinney, TX)
Gillian Staudt (Sunnyvale, CA)
Cherilyn Suiter (Arlington, WA)
Khem Suthiwan (Denver, CO)
Maria Tancredi Seiler (Rye, NY)
Lisa Thomas (Houston, TX)
Kimberly Townsend (Fort Wayne, IN)
Chris Valerian (Glen Ridge, NJ)
Steve Van Wart (Scottsdale, AZ)
Alberto Vivas (Houston, TX)
Logan Washburn (Royersford, PA)
Natalie Williams (Clermont, FL)
Dave Wilson (Tampa, FL)
Chris Wodke (Milwaukee, WI)
Kelly Worrell (Cherry Hill, NJ)
Paul Yankey (Colorado Springs, CO)
Ross Young (Austin, TX)
Robin Zehnder Muskopf (Powell, OH)
Carlos Zepeda (Charlotte, NC)