PTO names Jan Frodeno the men’s MVP for the Collins Cup

Germany’s three-time Kona champion and 2008 Olympic gold medalist earned another honor today, this one possibly more for for his grit rather than his talent. The Professional Triathletes Organisation has awarded Jan Frodeno the Dave Scott Award as the men’s Most Valuable Player for the Collins Cup.

While Frodeno had the fastest finishing time of the day at the Collins Cup, his performance was a key factor for Team Europe, who were experiencing an unexpected battle with Team USA as he started his race.

“With some early surprises from the USA women, we needed Jan to step up and stabilise our team and rack up some bonus points,” Team Europe captain Normann Stadler said. “With two kilometres left in his match, Jan was 3 minutes and 40 seconds ahead of Sam Appleton and needed to gain another 20 seconds in order to secure an additional half bonus point. To see Jan practically sprint the last two kilometres at the end of a gruelling race to gain Team Europe an added half bonus point just shows what the Collins Cup meant to him and how much he wanted to lead the European Team to victory. It was a stellar performance worthy of the Dave Scott Award for the Men’s Most Valuable Player.”

Dave Scott, a six-time winner of the Ironman World Championship, was one of the pioneers of professional racing in triathlon. He was the “Athleta Emeritus Honouree” for the inaugural Collins Cup.